Customs Duty Calculator

Uganda – Important Facts

Uganda is a landlocked country located in Eastern Africa that borders the countries of Democratic Republic of the Congo, Kenya, Rwanda, South Sudan, and Tanzania. The terrain is mostly plateau with a rim of mountains and a southeastern border on Lake Victoria. The government system is a republic; the chief of state and head of government is the president. Uganda has a mixed economic system in which there is a variety of private freedom, combined with centralized economic planning and government regulation. Uganda is a member of the Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA) and the East African Community (EAC).

Uganda faces many challenges. Instability in South Sudan has led to a sharp increase in Sudanese refugees and is disrupting Uganda’s main export market. High energy costs, inadequate transportation and energy infrastructure, insufficient budgetary discipline, and corruption inhibit economic development and investor confidence. During 2015 the Uganda shilling depreciated 22% against the dollar, and inflation rose from 3% to 9%, which led to the Bank of Uganda hiking interest rates from 11% to 17%. As a result, inflation remained below double digits; however, trade and capital-intensive industries were negatively impacted.

The budget for FY 2015/16 is dominated by energy and road infrastructure spending, while relying on donor support for long-term economic drivers of growth, including agriculture, health, and education. The largest infrastructure projects are externally financed through low-interest concessional loans. As a result, debt servicing for these loans is expected to rise in 2016/2017 by 22% and consume 15% the domestic budget.

Important Details

  • Country ISO3 : UGA
  • Country Code : 800
  • Income Group : Low income
  • Lending Category : IDA
  • Region : Sub-Saharan Africa
  • Currency Unit: Ugandan shilling
  • WTO Member : Yes
  • Trade organisations : EAC, COMESA, AU, WTO
  • world rank : 102
  • Regional Ranking : 13th in Sub-Saharan Africa