Customs Duty Calculator

Kenya – Important Facts

Kenya officially the Republic of Kenya, is a country in Africa and a founding member of the East African Community (EAC). Its capital and largest city is Nairobi. Kenya’s territory lies on the equator and overlies the East African Rift covering a diverse and expansive terrain that extends roughly from Lake Victoria to Lake Turkana and further south-east to the Indian Ocean. It is bordered by Tanzania to the south, Uganda to the west, South Sudan to the north-west, Ethiopia to the north and Somalia to the north-east. Kenya covers 581,309 km2 (224,445 sq mi), and had a population of approximately 45 million people in July 2014.

The East African nation of Kenya has an estimated population of 46.1 million, which increases by one million a year. With support of the World Bank Group (WBG), International Monetary Fund (IMF) and other development partners, Kenya has made significant structural and economic reforms that have contributed to sustained economic growth in the past decade. Development challenges include poverty and inequality, and vulnerable of the economy to internal and external shocks.

Facts: The Republic of Kenya Capital: Nairobi, Population: 42.7 million, Area: 582,646 sq km (224,961 sq miles), Major languages: Swahili and English, Major religion: Christianity, Life extpectancy: 57 years (men) and 59 years (women), Currency: Kenya shilling.

Important Details

  • Country ISO3:KEN
  • Country Code:404
  • Income Group:Sub-Saharan Africa
  • Lending Category:Lower middle income
  • Region:IDA
  • Currency Unit:Kenya shilling
  • WTO Member:YES
  • Trade organisations:CEN-SAD, COMESA, EAC, WTO and others
  • world rank:115
  • Regional Ranking:19th in Sub-Saharan Africa