Customs Duty Calculator

Cayman Islands – Important Facts

The Cayman Islands is a British Overseas Territory in the western Caribbean Sea. The 264-square-kilometre (102-square-mile) territory comprises the three islands of Grand Cayman, Cayman Brac and Little Cayman located south of Cuba, north east of Costa Rica, north of Panama and north west of Jamaica. Its population is approximately 60,000, and its capital is George Town.
The Cayman Islands are considered to be part of the geographic Western Caribbean Zone as well as the Greater Antilles. The territory is often considered a major world offshore financial haven for many wealthy individuals.

The Cayman Islands have a mixed economic system, and the islands are a thriving offshore financial centre.

The government’s primary source of income is indirect taxation: there is no income tax, capital gains tax, or corporation tax.[12] An import duty of 5% to 22% (automobiles 29.5% to 100%) is levied against goods imported into the islands. Few goods are exempt; notable exemptions include books, cameras, and infant formula

Facts: Cayman Islands :British overseas territory, Population: 55,000, Are: 260 sq km (100 sq miles), Major language: English, Major religion: Christianity, Life expectancy: 76 years (men) and 84 years (women), Currency: Cayman Island dollar

Important Details

  • Country ISO3:CYM
  • Country Code:136
  • Income Group:Latin America & Caribbean
  • Lending Category:High income
  • Region:Not Available
  • Currency Unit:Cayman Islands dollar(KYD)
  • WTO Member:No
  • Trade organisations:asdf
  • world rank:Not available
  • Regional Ranking:Not available